5 Stages Of Breakup

Breaks or separation between two people in a relationship is said to appear in many stages, but there are five stages of breakup that looks like overall that cover them all. Those overall stages are what we will be looking at. To help us understand it more, let’s just go straight to the point.


Below are the 5 stages of a breakup


  1. Denial. This is the first stage of breaking up that many faces. Let’s say this is when someone is dumped, but still, they will find it hard to believe that they have been dumped. This is when they enter the denial stage, hoping and believing that they are not really dumped and that their partner will still be back. So this is the number one stage in the five stages of breakup that happens to the individual at first when they are dumped.
  2. Depression. This is the second stage someone will face after the denial stage. At this stage, you will see the person finding it hard to sleep, losing appetite, and always being unhappy with everything around him or her. This stage can last weeks or months, but it all depends on the effort or contributions one makes or puts into the relationship. It is always good to meet a chancellor or professional for advice. So this is the second stage of the five stages of breakup that an individual will experience after the denial stage.
  3. AngerThis is another stage an individual suffers after break up. When suffering from depression or a breakup, you will see an individual getting angry at any little thing, especially something that reminds him or her of the ex. At this stage, you will see them calling their different ex-names and getting mad about anything that concerns their ex.
  4. Acceptance And Bargaining. This, among the five stages of the breakup, is when the individual will begin to accept reality. At this stage, you will see the person accepting that the relationship is over, and there is nothing he or she will do about it. And he or she will start blaming himself for the breakup and will take it as the way things are meant to be. That is when the person is said to be barging into his/her mind and then accepting to let go.
  5. Recovering. This is the last stage in the five stages of a breakup, and during this stage, you will see the person living independently of their ex. This is when they will start finding happiness in the things around them. At this stage is said to believe that the person has passed through all the pains and heartbreak and decided to move on and forget the past.

How long do breakup stages last?

In analyzing the divorce timeframe, many websites use the term “study,” which is an online survey by a market research firm that conducts it for Yelp. The results of the survey suggest it takes approximately 3.5 months to heal. However, healing after divorce may take as long as 1.5 years or even longer.

What is the hardest phase of a breakup?

The end of the future you had in mind with your ex-partner, one you may have imagined with them, could be extremely difficult to accept following a breakup. This makes the present difficult to deal with (see the previous paragraph). It’s fine to mourn and mourn the loss of the future.

What are the five stages of acceptance?

A long-lasting, traumatized grief may result in us going (sometimes fast) through the different stages of grieving: denial, anger bargaining, and depression acceptance. These phases are our attempts at processing change and protecting ourselves as we adjust to a new world.

What is the bargaining stage of a breakup?

Bargaining. In the negotiation stage of grief following a breakup, you’re looking to look back at the past to fix or alter what happened. You may promise not to shout again if you could have your relationship as it was. You might even wish that your partner could make a change and then come back to you.